Executive Board Chairmen since 1971 - Bertelsmann SE & Co. KGaA

Information about the international media enterprise and it's corporate divisions RTL Group, Penguin Random House, Gruner + Jahr, Arvato; detailed information for journalists in the Bertelsmann SE & Co. KGaA's Press Center as well as everything about Corporate Responsibility activities at Bertelsmann.

Chairmen and CEOs

Executive Board Chairmen since 1971

On July 1, 1971, Bertelsmann was converted into a stock corporation. The family-owned company became a major corporation that is led by the management and governed by the supervisory board and the annual general meeting, as per German stock corporation law. The Group changed its legal form from AG to SE & Co. KGaA on August 20, 2012.

  • Chairmen of the Executive Board

Hartmut Ostrowski

January 2008 - December 2011

Gunter Thielen

August 2002 - December 2007

Thomas Middelhoff

November 1998 - July 2002

Mark Wössner

April 1983 - October 1998

Manfred Fischer

July 1981 - March 1983